Photographic Practice: The Test Shoot (Studio)

In this blog post we will be looking at the how the test shoot went and some of the images from said shoot.

I shot Aithne, with three studio flashes suspended in the air. Two studio flashes had big rectangular soft box flash attachments and I had the third studio flash with a spill kill and a blue gel. I was shooting in the infinity cove which with the gel would allow the background to become blue. My keylight on the subject was set 4.0 and the fill light was set to 3.5. I started with one studio flash with a blue gel and then I moved onto having two studio flashes. The left studio background flash was set to 6.5 and the right background flash was set to 6.0.

used my Canon 6D which is a full frame DSLR that gives me more light and higher quality images. I then used an 85mm f/1.2 L Prime lens from college, prime lenses offer exceptional photographic quality. The longer the prime the flatter the image, which is why a portrait lenses are normally considered between 70mm to 105mm. The exposure for the images was a shutter speed of 6th, an aperture of F/13 and ISO of 100. I had two assistants helping me with the shoot, one would turn off the background light from firing a second time and fire the fill light. The other assistant turned the modelling light off the Key light, which I used to focus the image. On reflection I should have allowed the background light to fire for a second time. This caused the blue to appear pale, which was rectifiable in Photoshop. Overall I was happy with the test shoot and will definitely use the multiple flash technique in a shoot with Sarah.

 

Leave a Reply

