Photographic Practice: Idea Generation (Studio)

In this blog post I will discuss my initial ideas for the portrait shoot with Sarah.

idea-generation-studio-photographic-practice

I want to shoot a portrait of Sarah, around her Cosplay activity. However talking to Sarah revealed qualities of her person that I wanted to incorporate into the portrait. From my interview I feel there is a divide within Sarah, when she isn’t cosplaying Sarah is shy, however when she cosplays she takes on the character’s confidence.

I want my portrait of Sarah to show this divide/double identity. This will require specific camera techniques in order to achieve this. I asked my tutors if the image could be composited in Photoshop, rather than creating the image in camera. My tutor said that it needed to be created in camera. I will need to explore camera techniques such as, multiple exposures, multiple flashes and gel lighting.

Leave a Reply

