Workflow

In this blog post we will be looking at the workflow of a photographer. In Ideas and Resolutions we asked to consider our workflow to our University modules and reflect on this process.

 Workflow Table Task

WORKFLOW PROCESS

What do you currently do?

What things are you going to change?

Setting up the camera

I always shoot in manual mode of a camera, depending on the shoot my ISO will normally stay below 1000. Checking the camera card if it’s cleared

Checking weather on the day and thinking about exposures before shooting.

During the shoot

I sometimes check the images, to see if the exposure is correct. But I’m not that good at checking the histogram, as preview of an image doesn’t tell you the whole story.

When shooting in the studio, try and shoot tethered more to improve the finer details of the image.
When shooting on location I will try to use the histogram more and adapt the exposure to improve the image.

Ingestion

I import my images onto 2 drives and rename the images for organisation. The images will then prepared for DNG conversation and then the originals will be archived

Consider using Lightroom to import images and organise them.
When shooting in the studio use Capture Pro 1 for ingestion.

Organisation (files and folders)

All of the mini-briefs and the final shoot have a folder within an Ideas and Resolutions, with a sub-folder

I should consider using metadata and tagging files to help increase searchability of files.

Back up

I use a combination of software and manually backing-methods to ensure that my files are backed up and easily available to me at any time on multiple drives.

Improve the Windows backup procedure Potentially upgrade drives in the future

Workflow File Organisation:

When it comes to organising files, I like to task myself with finding random files from a project. With the perspective of someone else looking through my work to find it. I try to keep folder use down and distill to what is necessary.

I have a multiple hard drives backing up work and they are backed up in a stacked time frame so there will always be different stage of work on each drive. This allows me to go back and check an older version of a file in case a newer version of the file corrupts.

This folder structure allows me to check if folders are up to date and if a change has occurred, to backup a specific file or a whole folder.

I also use Adobe DNG Converter to mass name change files on importation to a computer, as my Mac has Adobe CS6 and some cameras I have are not supported by its Adobe Camera RAW. This increases compatibility and allows me to change the names of the files from the shoot, to something easier to search.

Leave a Reply

