Mini Brief 2: Shoot Review

In this blog post we will be looking at the shoot done for the second mini-brief. In this shoot I photographed my friends in busy locations standing still.

I planned a shoot for Saturday 15th October in the morning just past 11. I had thought because it was overcast, I might of got away without needing a neutral density filter.

I used my Canon 6D as it was full frame DSLR paired with a Canon 16-35mm Lens, this allowed me to get very wide shots, showing lots of location within the frame. This made freezing people in a very busy place easy to pick out, but give the viewer a sense of scale and the amount of people within the area.I wanted the final image to feel like it was shot in a studio and came across as   The exposure for the images was a shutter speed of 1/3rd Sec, an aperture of F/22 and ISO of 100. With the image stabilisation on the wide angle lens, I was able to get away with shooting as slow 1/3rd of a second. The issue then became my aperture couldn’t get any smaller. In hindsight I should have used a neutral density filter. Though the weather was overcast, I couldn’t go any slower because the images would be over exposed.

mini-brief-2-contact-sheet

If I was to shoot with a neutral density filter I would potentially be shooting on a tripod because handheld shooting would no longer be possible if I want the image to be sharp.

Leave a Reply

