Mini Brief 2: Idea Generation

In this blog post we’ll be looking at my idea generation for the second Mini Brief.

screen-shot-2017-01-18-at-11-44-31

Once we were introduced to the brief, we had to decide if we were just going to photograph what we saw, or were we going to intervene to create a scene to photograph. I decided on creating a series of images based on intervening within the series.

Both of the photographers I looked at were documentary photographers who shot what they saw around them. I liked the compositional elements from both of them but Zack Arias’ images from the streets of Mumbai with a slow shutter speed have appealed to me.

I want to use the slow shutter speed to potentially isolate subjects within the frame. I would need to look for areas to which are potentially busy with people and freeze my subjects within the area. I could look at Leeds Train station and Leeds Trinity Shopping Centre.

I will need to ask some of my friends to stand within the frame and ask them to stand still while I expose the images.

Leave a Reply

