Mini Brief 1: Toilet Whisk Shoot

In this blog post we will be looking at the first shoot done for the mini-brief. In this shoot we photographed a toliet brush being used as whisk.

One of our ideas was to shoot a Toilet Brush being used as a whisk – Toilet Whisk. We did shoot at my flat because it potentially could have got messy. The shoot took place in the kitchen/lounge area of my flat with a pale purple. As a reference to PutPut’s images with a contrasting coloured backgrounds, allowing the subject to stand out.

screen-shot-2017-01-11-at-17-57-36

I held the toilet brush, with the glass bowl against the purple wall. Jamie used my Canon 6D with a 24-105mm L lens to shoot the images. We used my Canon 6D as it was full frame and provides high quality images when paired with a good lens such as the 24-105mm L lens. I wanted the final image to feel like it was shot in a studio and came across as an advertising/still life photograph. The exposure for the images was a shutter speed of 1/125th, an aperture of F/4 and ISO of 400. Because I was using available light from my flat the big window in my flat, we had to push the sensitivity up of the camera.

toilet-whisk-contact-sheet

Overall the shoot went well, given the timescale provided by the mini-brief. If I was to shoot the images again I would use a controlled light source, such as a portable flash or studio flashes. I think this image could have been created within a studio for better light control but would still have worked in my flat provided the right lighting was used.

Leave a Reply

