Bruce’s Fashion Shoot

As I had chosen to create more fashion-based images, I was going to need to shoot in the studio. I shot with the tutor Bruce and his first model, with a studio flash with a large softbox attachment lighting the model and the backdrop.

FSU

This is an image of the studio set up, as you can see the backdrop has been changed since I used it but this was the lighting set up I used.

I shot with a Canon EOS 5D Mark 2 with a 85mm Prime lens. I used a shutter speed of 1/125th to make sure I could sync with the studio flashes and had an aperture of f/9. I also made sure my ISO was at 100 and I shot in RAW. For this shoot I used a studio flash suspended on a boom with an umbrella attachment again. However I made sure to align the light with sitter/model, making sure I was taking full advantage of the light. This time the backdrop was lit more sufficiently.

The images were then processed in Camera RAW. I changed the white balance to flash. I then changed the exposure of the image to increase the contrast and even the blacks across the image. I also increased the clarity. I then added some slight sharpening to the images I wanted to ensure that the image was as sharp as possible.

The image was then converted to grayscale. I tweaked the colours so that the exposure was more dramatic. I then also cropped the image.

Once the images were processed in Camera RAW, I will begin manipulating them in Photoshop to create some interesting images from the photographs shot.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 16.18.35

These are the processed RAW files from Camera RAW and will be used within the manipulation stage of Photoshop. There may be more images, that I want to use when I create my manipulated fashion image, if I want them to look the same as these four images. There are two methods one involves you opening an image that is already edited and syncing the settings to another image while the other saves the settings used and allows you to apply them to as many images in one click.

I wanted to lighten the images and add a slight increase to the overall exposure. This makes the images more dramatic and it allows the black and white outfits to differentiate the contrast between the two items of clothing.

Synchronizing Settings:

First make sure your images are open in Camera RAW and are all selected once the first image has been edited. Then click the synchronize button and it will bring up a new window asking what you would like to synchronize to each image.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 16.18.54

Once you have specified if you want all the settings to be synched or a specified amount click OK and the images will have the settings applied. It is always good to preview each image to make sure that settings are just right for each. There is an issue if you click on the wrong image to synchronize the settings it will mean you will have to start again for all of the images.

Saving a preset:

Instead of synchronizing the settings to each image, you can save the settings as a preset to apply to each image without having an edited image open. Once you have edited the image, you can save the preset to be able to load it into onto another image.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 16.19.09

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 16.19.16

Now you can load the settings onto each image, and apply it with all the settings or specific settings applied to the image. This makes it really easy for extra images to apply the settings to extra images.  This increases the efficiency of the workflow for creating and editing images.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 16.19.27

These three images were used to create this first manipulated image. Once the images were brought into Photoshop I would need to increase the canvas size equally on both sides. The original size was 39.62cm; I then increased the canvas size to 50cm I then added 5.5cm to both sides of the canvas.

I then added selected part of the edge of the image and used the keyboard shortcut “CMD+J” this takes a selection of the layer that you are currently selected and make a new layer with just the selection. I then moved these two new selections into the right area then merged them together. I then used the spot-healing tool to make it look like the stage and shot was longer. I then used the quick selection tool to select the model and then used the “CMD+J” shortcut to bring the model forward, so that the models will look like there behind here. I then placed the other images of the model behind the top layer of the model. I then moved the models in closer together and cropped down. I then burned in on the first layer to replicate shadows for the other images of the model.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 16.19.36

Here are three different images produced with the technique the description was describing the process for the first image and the last image with the model on the stage.

Test clothesThis image was an experimentation with creating an outfit from the clothes captured on the model. I wanted to play around with the idea of being able to place other clothing directly onto your body to try new clothing without having to wear it. I used a combination of the images to create an outfit. Though the image is a little odd the clothing has been manipulated to give the illusion it was shot all together, I used the burn and dodge tools to manipulate the way the shadows and light fell on the clothing. I used the white dress as a shawl that trailed round the back of the paper dress. I then used it again as different material for the leggings so they were black and white.

CombinationThis colourful image was inspired by Nick Knight’s image for a campaign for Luis Vutton. Which had the model in different colours, which looked like filters over the original image. I decided I was going to use Camera RAW to manipulate the images to create my own version. I used the Hue and Saturation sliders to alter the colour of the skin. I created a few different combinations to see what worked best. I then used four different variations on the same image and used the Art History brush and blend tool to merge the layers together to create a more striking image.  I then put four variations on one page to be printed, this allows the viewer to see the variations next to the mixed image. I like this image and I think it is a good reflection on using digital techniques to replicate the original image and its ideas.

DSC0537163This image was shot for a fashion student and her work for her final submission. The clothes were based around the story Alice in Wonderland. So I decided to shoot two of the outfits outside; the Cheshire Cat and Alice. For the Cheshire Cat image I wanted to put the model in a tree, as the Cheshire Cat in the story and film adaptations has always been known to be skulking around on the trees in Alice and Wonderland. The trees were a little high for the model and the outfit would not allow for such climbing without the risk of being ripped. Thus I took two shots one of the model on a ladder sitting down and a photograph of the tree branches she would be sitting on. I used the Path tool to select the model and bring her onto the other image on Photoshop. I then used the Dodge and Burn tools to manipulate the shadows, so that it would look like she was sitting on the branch. For the Alice shot I stood on a ladder and retouched the image in Camera RAW.

Leave a Reply

