Three Studio Shoots

The first brief of my second year was Unit 30 Location Photography. With the studio brief I also had to shoot three shoots for the assignment. The first shoot was a test shoot on a product we liked and to understand how the image was constructed and what we would need to replicate the image. The second shoot can be a third try at the same advert or can be a completely new advert, which was what I shot in my case.

Health and Safety:

When shooting in a studio there is a lot of risk to you as the photographer and to the model (if applicable). There are legal requirements and regulations the photographer must enforce in their workplace to make sure that they are working within a safe environment.

Risk Assessment:

When shooting still life in the studio there are a variety of hazards and considerations that must be taken into account to ensure my safety and the studio assistants (if applicable). When shooting in the studio the lights will be off to prevent interaction with the exposure and shots, so visibility within the studio becomes harder for the photographer and the model and assistants (if applicable). For the photographer they will be working within the dark and light in a specific area which will cause their eyes to readjust but this will take time.

  • As the photographer I will need to ensure the model is comfortable and take regular breaks to prevent strain on their eyes.
  • It is best practice in the studio for cables to be taped down or covered to protect them from being damaged and prevent the model or photographer from tripping.
  • I should ensure that the studio assistants aren’t epileptic or sensitive to light and to make sure that I use the correct lighting to accommodate their health conditions.
  • As visibility is lower and we have suspended lights on booms, the weights are at head height and can cause severe injury to a person who walks into them. I should ensure all weights are covered so that I (as the photographer) or studio assistants or the model do not bump our heads.
  • When putting the studio equipment away make sure to take care as it could be hot and could cause severe injury to someone.

IMG_0328

This is an image of the first studio shoot, which was a test shoot. When working the studio there were other tabletop shoots around, this was problematic when the lights went off. Studio boom legs  and stand legs are hazardous in the low light to everyone, which could cause me or someone else to trip

 

Test Studio Shoot

Objective for shoot Try to recreate adverts based on initial advert and to understand the technical lighting employed within the advert.
Lighting Diagram Scan
Photographic equipment.

Lights

Two Studio Flashes with remote triggers.

Attachments

Two big soft box attachments

Background and Accessories

Other People N/A
Materials N/A
Props White Perspex

Malibu White Rum Bottle

Contingency Other Alcohol bottles and a possible watch advert.
Miscellaneous

 

Ensure camera cards are empty and prepared for the shoot. Make sure you have charged batteries for cameras. Buy batteries for studio equipment. Bring cloths to clean equipment and the Perspex.

IMG_0328The objective of the test shoot was to try and recreate adverts based on initial advert and to understand the technical lighting employed within the advert. This was an interesting shoot as I got to understand the basic of the first advert I wanted to shoot. This was shot with Sony Alpha A7 and the 24-70mm kit lens as my canon adapter was on back order. The shoot gave me some acceptable shots. I understood what I would need to do for the proper shoot. I should have used black card to give the definition on the white bottle. My shutter speed was 1/125 when syncing with the studio flashes on remote trigger. My Aperture moved between f/14 and f/16 and other than when I had to use the high speed flashes it was decreased to f/11 as these flashes did not emit as much light but allowed me to freeze water in place. This was an experimental shoot shot after doing the test shots of the Malibu. I decided to create a Smirnoff Advert with water pouring into a glass with the water splashing out of the glass which meant I had to change background for the image. When I tried to place the images together I encountered issues as the backgrounds were differences.

1st Studio Shoot

Objective for shoot Recreate the Malibu White Rum Advert. Understand the technical lighting employed within the advert. Also how to use the Photoshop to produce the final advert
Lighting Diagram Scan
Photographic equipment.

Lights

Two Studio Flashes with remote triggers.

Attachments

Two big soft box attachments

Background and Accessories

Studio Boom

Tripod

Camera Attachment

Other People Katy Buckley Studio Assistant (Held Black Card)
Materials N/A
Props White Perspex

Malibu White Rum Bottle

Coconut

Contingency
Miscellaneous

 

Ensure camera cards are empty and prepared for the shoot. Make sure you have charged batteries for cameras. Buy batteries for studio equipment. Bring cloths to clean equipment and the Perspex. Make sure there is something to break the coconut.

IMG_0347This shoot took two different images and was going to have the two images placed together on Photoshop. This was shot with Sony Alpha A7 and the 24-70mm kit lens, I had my Mac tethering to my camera to allow easier viewing of the images. The studio set up was a studio flash with a big soft box suspended in the air on a studio boom. The background was a studio flash with two different soft boxes. This allowed me to get a specific image of the bottle with the black card to get the definition of the sides of the bottle. Like the test shoot we had to spray the Malibu bottle with dulling spray to give a matte effect on the bottle because the original bottle is glossy. The bottle of Malibu also had numbers on the glass which meant I would have to edit the numbers out of the image, and then I will have to edit it out on the reflection. We had issues with the Perspex getting dirty after a few seconds because the coconut kept giving bits off. I should have remembered to bring a cloth, to clean the Perspex. My aperture was at f/29 all through the shoot and the same with my shutter speed 1/125.

2nd Studio Shoot

Objective for shoot Recreate Steve Bronstein’s Absolut Vodka Advert. Understand the technical lighting employed and how to employ the Photoshop to produce the final advert.
Lighting Diagram

 

Scan 1Scan 2
Photographic equipment.

Lights

One Studio Flash with remote trigger

Mono Studio Flash with remote trigger

Attachments

One honeycomb attatchment

Background and Accessories

White Backdrop

Studio Boom

Tripod

Camera Attachment

 

Other People N/A
Materials N/A
Props Absolut Vodka Bottle

Martini Glass

Glass Mirror

Contingency A simpler Steve Bronstein Absolut Vodka advert.
Miscellaneous

 

Ensure camera cards are empty and prepared for the shoot. Make sure you have charged batteries for cameras. Buy batteries for studio equipment. Bring cloths to clean equipment and the mirror. Fill Absolut bottle with water instead of the vodka as it will get wasted.

imageThis was shot with Sony Alpha A7 and the 24-70mm kit lens, however my sensor had dust on it which led to some spots that needed to be cleaned out of the images. I found this to be the most complicated shoot I have done as I was creating components for an image that had to put together rather than components placed within the image. I also learnt how to use different pieces of equipment to hold my bottle on the studio boom. We also had to keep the exposure the same on the camera to achieve the same characteristics of the exposure across each image, so the lights had to be readjusted to make sure the exposure would be the same. However, I think this shoot went a lot better than my first studio shoot and though I didn’t have a clear image in my head of what the shot was going to look like this would be made within Photoshop. I believe I achieved some of the qualities in the original advert and the rest will be subtly introduced with manipulating the image.

Sorry for the odd layout and for the information overload, I had a few issues getting the page how I wanted and this was a compromise. Now that the shoots are over it will be on to editing the images down and preparing the final image for print.

Leave a Reply

