Three Location Shoots

In this blog post we shall be looking at the three different locations I shot for this assignment. The first shoot was in Northwich, this gave us a chance to try and put our research into practice and allow our new tutor to see how we shoot. From this shoot we start to decide on what we shot for the first shoot in Liverpool. The images in this blog post will be my notes I wrote onto my contact sheets and my planning sheets for each shoot.

The first shoot in Northwich was alright, but due to the weather being overcast the sky in the images makes Northwich look dreary. It also didn’t help that major construction work was being done, thinking back it might have been interesting to have gotten some shots of the construction work up close. I should have also done some research on Northwich as I was made aware after the shoot that there would be an Artisan Market held within Northwich. This would have given me much more interesting shots of Northwich and would have helped me with shooting images of people. Which was what I wanted to shoot street photography and this would have been a great first-time opportunity.

Northwich Location Planning Sheet Northwich Location Shoot (Test Shoot) Contact Sheet Pg1 Northwich Location Shoot (Test Shoot) Contact Sheet Pg2 Northwich Location Shoot (Test Shoot) Contact Sheet Pg3

Between the two shoots of Liverpool I believe I got some acceptable images, however on reflect I still having a long way to before shooting comfortably and confidently out on location.

The first shoot I used my full-frame Sony Alpha A7 with a 50mm f/1.8 that was designed for crop sensor, which meant I was actually shooting at 70mm. The shoot wasn’t a great success I felt my images from the shoot lacked a consistent vision of themes I had set out to explore. Most of the images had compositions that were too “tight”, and meant I should have been further back to get the image I wanted to capture. I also wasn’t very confident in taking the image and would shy away resulting in wasted opportunity (there were too many pictures of the backs of people rather than their faces. In hindsight I should have used a lens designed for the Alpha A7 or a wider angle lens.

1st Liverpool Shoot Location Planning Sheet Liverpool Location Shoot (1st Shoot) Contact Sheet Pg1 Liverpool Location Shoot (1st Shoot) Contact Sheet Pg2 Liverpool Location Shoot (1st Shoot) Contact Sheet Pg3

The second shoot of Liverpool went a lot better than the first. I was more confident at taking pictures of people from the front rather than of their backs. For this shoot I used two cameras, alongside my full-frame Alpha A7, I used a Sony NEX 7 (APS-C crop factor). The Sony Alpha A7 had a 50mm f/1.8 prime lens that would take advantage of the full sensor, while the Sony NEX 7 had a 20mm f/2.8 prime/wide angle lens. This allowed me to capture a variety of images with different perspectives and angles. The weather for this shoot was a lot better than the first shoot, which was quite overcast while it did rain occasionally, it gave way to sunlight. I explored a larger area of Liverpool on this shoot giving me a better chance of capturing images of the Liverpool residents.

2nd Liverpool Shoot Location Planning Sheet Liverpool Location Shoot (2nd Shoot) Contact Sheet Pg1 Liverpool Location Shoot (2nd Shoot) Contact Sheet Pg2 Liverpool Location Shoot (2nd Shoot) Contact Sheet Pg3

If there is anything I from these experiences while shooting in Liverpool apart from becoming more confident when shooting on location. I will need to get better at understanding focussing distance to be able to decide on the focus without having to continuously check.

3 thoughts on “Three Location Shoots

  1. hello there. i read carefully and browsed all the small images with the hand written notes.
    i think that shooting people from their back is not a shame.. if there is something speaking in composition, architecture around or in the pose or even feeling expressed by figure and ppl’s back. and sometimes possible to feel the mood of someone much better from his/her back.
    all these images are very “reflecting” the modern “street photography” that definitely about nothing happening and don’t express the urban mood of the city that “street photography” might express..
    sorry for saying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

