Unit 9 Project Evaulation

This blog post will be about my project evaluation for Unit 9 Professional Practice in Art and Design.

Unit 9 has been a challenging assignment to complete, as it required me to work with a professional manner. I have learnt many things for this assignment, which will be valuable in later life when working within photography. For this assignment I was tasked with producing a portrait of my own choice while working within a professional manner.

I learned a lot about portraiture while compiling visual research, I have learnt there are many different types of portraiture. From the traditional classic portrait to fashion based portraits there are different classifications for different types of portraits. I also found inspiration from many different Portrait Photographers each have their own distinct style and sometimes have photographed historical figures or produced portraits that’s have changed the way we look at portraiture. From my research I have found about Edward Steichen, who immigrated from Luxemburg to America to avoid persecution from the Nazi’s.

Health and Safety within the studio is very important for you as the photographer and when shooting a model. The electrical equipment that is used within the studio can have a high voltage and could give a serious electrical injury to someone if they are not careful. So not matter what kind of photographer you are if you have a studio you should work under the Health and Safety at Work Act (1974) and comply with the Electricity at Work Regulations (1989). A photographer who makes sure to comply and work with these regulations and acts will ensure a safe working environment, but this environment needs to be maintained and that all employees and non-employees (this could be models or overseers) are provided with explanation of all health and safety policies at the work place and that there is clear signage and equipment for if such an emergency should arise.

When working in the studio putting all of the health and safety aspects in to play can be overwhelming but it is important that you enforce them into your practice. When shooting my two different models, I had to make sure that when they were navigating the studio after the studio flash had been in there eyes, that they were in no immediate danger. I also had to ensure that all the cables were out of the way and weren’t likely to cause some one to trip. When putting the studio equipment I had to take as it takes time for the equipment to cool down and if not careful can cause burns, if not handled carefully or left sufficient time to cool down.

When researching about model communication and photographic copyright, I learned that it is very important to keep a record of all communications with model and client. This is important when a lawsuit might pop-up and the question of ownership of the images will be questioned. It is also important to ensure that models shot by any photographer or me should have a model sign a model release form.

I believe that the photos I shot from both shoots gave me some acceptable shots and that I have some very good images for submission. This was partly due to using the best camera and the best lens available from the studio; this was a Canon EOS 5D Mark 2 and a Canon 85mm f/1.8 prime lens. I made sure to also shoot in RAW to give me the best quality files possible.

Unfortunately I lacked experience with directing a model for poses and was not completely confident in taking the lead. I also found manual focusing and the auto focus problematic on the camera, which did mean I lost a few shots to poor focusing.

Overall I believe that the photos and my overall performance was good and I thoroughly enjoyed this project.

Leave a Reply

