Studio Shoot Evaluation

This blog will be about my studio experience for the portrait brief (Unit 9 Professional Practice in Art and Design). Overall I enjoyed both of the studio shoot I had.

First Shoot:

This was an interesting shoot as I had to plan alongside my client on what they wanted shooting and when they wanted it to be shot. My client was Alissa O’Malley a friend and fashion student from Mid Cheshire College. I wanted to shoot fashion-based portraits

I shot Holly, with a studio flash suspended in the air on a boom with a big soft box flash attachment. We wanted to create classic fashion based portraits that would be full length to mid body shots. We had the white backdrop for the background but as we were only lighting the model with a studio flash looking down on the model; the backdrop would appear a dark grey, as only a slight amount of light would travel

Holly the model had to sign a model release form to declare the rights of the photograph’s for Alissa and I to use for our projects. It is very important when working professionally in photography to make sure a model has signed a model release form and that you both keep record of the form. As if there are any legal issues to arise in the future it must be documented and they’re proof that the model declared the rights of the images.

When shooting Holly, I had to ensure her safety as Holly was standing on a small stand with a soft box flash suspended in the air shining light directly onto her. This caused Holly to have limited vision and puts at risk of walking into something and causing harm to her.

This is an image of the studio set up, as you can see the backdrop has been changed since I used it but this was the lighting set up I used.

This is an image of the studio set up, as you can see the backdrop has been changed since I used it but this was the lighting set up I used.

I shot with a Canon EOS 5D Mark 2 with a 85mm Prime lens. However I made sure to align the light with sitter/model, making sure I was taking full advantage of the light.

I shot with 1/125th to make sure it would sync with the studio flashes correctly. I used an aperture f/10 and my ISO sensitivity was 100. I then also made sure to shoot in RAW or RAW and JPEG, unlike my Nikon D5200, the Canon EOS 5D Mark 2 seems to have no compatibility issues. So I will organise my photos with Bridge instead of using the Adobe DNG converter.

Unit 9 Professional Practice Original Files Contact Sheet pg1 Unit 9 Professional Practice Original Files Contact Sheet pg2 Unit 9 Professional Practice Original Files Contact Sheet pg3

Second Shoot:

The second shoot was of my friend Amber who is a model for the modelling agency Maverick Models. These images were solely for my portrait brief and for possible portfolio work. For this shoot I wanted to shoot portraits closer to the face instead of opting for full-length body shots (The first studio shoot I did for this brief).

I shot Amber, with a studio flash suspended in the air on a boom with a honeycomb attachment, and a secondary flash with a honeycomb attachment. I wanted to create classic a portrait that would be mid body shot or just a portrait of the face. I had the white backdrop for the background but as we were only lighting the model with a studio flash looking down on the model; the backdrop would appear a dark grey, as only a slight amount of light would travel back to the camera. If I had used the black backdrop the models body and hair would have become flat as it becomes hard to separate the model from the background.

Amber the model had to sign a model release form to declare the rights of the photograph’s for me to use in my project. It is very important when working professionally in photography to make sure a model has signed a model release form and that you both keep record of the form. As if there are any legal issues to arise in the future it must be documented and they’re proof that the model declared the rights of the images.

When shooting Amber, I had to ensure her safety as Amber was standing on the floor with flash with a honeycomb attachment suspended in the air shining light directly onto her. This caused Amber to have limited vision and puts at risk of walking into something and causing harm to her.

This is an image of the studio set up, as you can see the backdrop has been changed since I used it but this was the lighting set up I used.

This is an image of the studio set up, as you can see the backdrop has been changed since I used it but this was the lighting set up I used.

I shot with a Canon EOS 5D Mark 2 with a 85mm Prime lens. However I made sure to align the light with sitter/model, making sure I was taking full advantage of the light.

I shot with 1/125th to make sure it would sync with the studio flashes correctly. I used an aperture f/10 and my ISO sensitivity was 100. I then also made sure to shoot in RAW or RAW and JPEG. I will be organising my photos with Bridge instead of using the Adobe DNG converter.

Unit 9 Professional Practice Original Files( Second Shoot) Contact Sheet pg1 Unit 9 Professional Practice Original Files( Second Shoot) Contact Sheet pg2 Unit 9 Professional Practice Original Files( Second Shoot) Contact Sheet pg3

The images that went along with this blog post were just samples of my contact sheets from both shoots.

Leave a Reply

