Working within InDesign

In this blog post, we will be looking at the environment of Adobe InDesign. I used this program to produce the magazine pages; InDesign is used for document creation and other printed publications but cane used to create interactive documents as well.

When creating my InDesign document I have to set up the page layout and canvas size. When you first bring up Adobe InDesign it brings up a menu asking you to open or create a document. When you create a document another dialog box opens up asking you to specify the size and columns. I choose an A3 page size and four columns across the page to replicate double page spread in a magazine.

0102This now gives me my six A3 Pages it looks like InDesign is putting pages 2-3 and 4-5 together as a spread, but when exported and printed they will be individual pages. I will now use InDesign to produce the magazine designs. Each page will have a black rectangle to signify the page. The text will be white except for the titles, which will have a white box around it and will be a black font. All of the images when placed onto the InDesign window it asks me to drag out the area for the image size. I use the Selection tool to move these guides around and then I use the Direct Selection Tool to move objects within the guides. The text tool in Adobe InDesign is a lot more flexible with editing and formatting text. It has more tools for indenting text into paragraphs while it also allows you to produce outlines around the text to whatever shape you specify.

03As you can see this is the spread completed I have produced an article on my friends dress that she created for her portfolio. To show case my manipulated images I had the article based around a fashion theme, therefore allowing my images to fit my theme “Manipulated images within Printed media.

You might also have noticed that some of the images are slightly blurry and pixelated this is not because the files have been blown up but rather Adobe InDesign saving resources and using a small preview of the file for reference and positioning rather than putting the file into the document and causing the computer to slow down. This is a partial problem that hinders Microsoft Word as it places the actual file into the document causing the document size to dramatically increase and take up large amounts of computer resources slowing the computer down. This is because Photoshop files can become very big. So instead only when you need to print or export Adobe InDesign will place the files within the document and then when it is done they are replaced by the preview again.

The guides and outlines allow me to organise the positioning of the objects within the document.

04Now that all of my pages have been produced and edited I will need to export it for printing. Adobe InDesign can be used to print the files directly however the college computers don’t have InDesign to print from. This is where exporting an InDesign file to a PDF file is better as it has wider compatibility. Also as InDesign files don’t include the image files placed in the document everything has to be moved within to be able to open it on another computer. Normally professionals will produce a workflow to accommodate this but as it was my first time using InDesign I was not aware of this factor.

05When exporting an InDesign document to PDF, you first specify the save location and then another dialog box appears. This dialog box allows you to specify how the document will be exported I have shown a screenshot of the export window under the compression tab to show you how InDesign will hand resizing and image resampling. This allows me to make sure all images will be in a 300DPI as that is the industry standard for most printers and for our printer at college.

This PDF file will be saved in my Unit 34 Image Manipulation under 2nd Assignment and under that folder “Final Files”.

Leave a Reply

