Initial Statement Of Intent

Let’s be honest I might have lied when I said I would start to post more content onto the blog. I have been very unorganised about posting content onto the blog, its not like I don’t have enough to publish. I will try to get back into the swing of things, I will be busy this week as I am submitting the second assignment for Unit 34 Image Manipulation.

This blog post will be about my initial ideas for Unit 29 Location Techniques, as this was the first assignment we were introduced to producing a statement of intent and what we would like to produce for assignment. This was the first unit where we were given a lot of creative of freedom on what we produced.

Initial Ideas:

1st Idea Photo Story of abandoned locations along the Canal (Trent and Merseyside) Along the canal that is near me there are various buildings and objects; which are abandoned. I would then have a model be shot within the frame in various locations around the image and create a ghostly effect. Taking inspiration from Trent Parke and creating a surreal/dreamlike set of images. These images will require a lot of post production however composition and the images shot will require thought and will need to be coordinated.

Theme for ideas:

  • Surrealism
  • Mysticism

Equipment For Shoot:

  • DSLR (Nikon D5200) – Lens (18-55mm) – 32gb SD Card
  • Remote Trigger
  • Tripod
  • Accessories and Clothing For the shoot

Time and Weather:

  • I would like to shoot around 9am-12pm as the fog will still be around as the temperature will not be warm enough creating a cold and stark atmosphere with the fog.

2nd Idea Photo story of Traffic along the A556 – the A556 dual carriage way is known for being busy and has some interesting locations along the way, which could show movement within the image.

Theme for ideas:

  • Time and Belonging
  • Loneliness and Isolation

Equipment for Shoot:

  • DSLR (Nikon D5200) – Lens (35mm Prime) – 32gb SD Card
  • Tripod
  • Remote Trigger

Time and Weather:

  • I would like to shoot around 7pm-9pm at night and not cloudy.

3rd Idea Photo story of Northwich – I would like to do a street photography based story around Northwich but depicting it abandoned and showing the true nature of what Northwich has become. If I could get older pictures of Northwich I could digitize them and use Photoshop and compare them.

Theme for ideas:

  • Abandonment
  • Derelict

Equipment For Shoot:

  • DSLR (Nikon D5200) – Lens (18-55mm) – 32gb SD Card

Time and Weather:

  • I would like to shoot around 1pm-3pm with clear blue skies.

Final Statement:

I would like to use the 1st Idea Photo Story of abandoned locations along the Canal (Trent and Merseyside) but I would like to call the images in the sequence “The Disconnected Businessmen”. Along the canal there are various buildings and objects; which are abandoned and would be interesting to shoot and would fit my idea. I would have a model that would be dressed in a suit and be shot within the frame in various locations around the image and create a ghostly effect. Taking inspiration from Trent Parke and creating a surreal/dreamlike set of images, while I will also be taking inspiration from Duane Michals for his interesting Photo-Sequences. These images will require a lot of post production however composition and the images shot will require thought and will need to be coordinated. I will produce a range of images and submit at least three images within the sequence.DSC_0196

2 thoughts on “Initial Statement Of Intent

Leave a Reply

