Studio Shoot Evaluation

Unfortunately the first shoot wasn’t particularly successful, as I had not planned in advance on getting the resources necessary. We hadn’t gotten everything for the shoot and what I did have was not going to give me good shots for the advert. I also had not considered the clothing that the model would wear on the body; this meant the jumper (that the model was wearing) looked out of place with a downhill mountain biking helmet on. The flash on the model was adequate and evenly lit the model, however was quite harsh and making the exposure quite hard to accomplish without over-exposing or making the contrast to hard. In hindsight I should have used soft boxes to prevent over-blowing certain areas of the face.

For the shoot I used the studio flashes for the first time, which meant I had to use a remote flash trigger to use the studio flashes. This also meant that I came into contact with the term “flash sync speed”. Flash Sync Speed is to do with the fastest shutter speed you can use with the flash. If you put the camera shutter speed above the flash speed sync black bands will appear, these black bands will get more prominent the faster the shutter speed.

Overall the first shoot didn’t go accordingly due to poor planning on my behalf as I had not prepared as well for the shoot and I had not considered using the equipment effectively.

The re-shoot went a lot better because, I was more organised and coordinated and the images I got from this shoot were much better. This time I was more coordinated with bring prop’s to use for the shoot, we also brought suitable clothing for the sitter to wear.

Both shoots used the same camera settings and lens, my shutter speed was set to 1/125th to make sure that the flash would sync up with the exposure. My aperture was set to f/11 to give me a big depth of field and making everything as sharp as possible. My ISO was set to 100 as there would be no need for it to be higher with Studio flashes and this will help my files stay as clean as possible from digital noise.

Overall the second shoot (or re-shoot) went well and gave me the shots I needed to complete the studio portion of this brief. However for future endeavours I will need to take the planning and preparation stage more carefully.

Lighting Diagrams for studio Shoot:

This is the lighting diagram for the first studio shoot.

This is the lighting diagram for the first studio shoot.

This is second lighting diagram for my second studio shoot (The Re-Shoot)

This is second lighting diagram for my second studio shoot (The Re-Shoot)

Images taken on the 1st Shoot:

This was one of the images taken for the GoPro advert but the background doesn't look very professional and the clothing the model is wearing isn't suitable for the actual shoot.

This was one of the images taken for the GoPro advert but the background doesn’t look very professional and the clothing the model is wearing isn’t suitable for the actual shoot.

This image occurred because I had my shutter speed set to 1/320th, which meant my camera had exposed the sensor before the flash had fired. I also had a few compatibility issues at first but these were soon fixed by changing my flash settings to manual to trigger the hot shoe on command.

This image occurred because I had my shutter speed set to 1/320th, which meant my camera had exposed the sensor before the flash had fired. I also had a few compatibility issues at first but these were soon fixed by changing my flash settings to manual to trigger the hot shoe on command

Images taken on the 2nd Shoot (Re-Shoot):

As I decided to go with two different types of bikers/cyclists. I got the model to wear road racing equipment which makes the images from the second shoot look more authentic.

As I decided to go with two different types of bikers/cyclists. I got the model to wear road racing equipment which makes the images from the second shoot look more authentic.

Here we have the sitter wearing more suitable clothing that suits the mountain biking helmet, we also got the sitter goggles to increase the authenticity of model being a mountain biker.

Here we have the sitter wearing more suitable clothing that suits the mountain biking helmet, we also got the sitter goggles to increase the authenticity of model being a mountain biker.

Leave a Reply

