Digitising the source material

The pictures I took for this project were all taken on the same day. These pictures were all taken on a Samsung EX2F, which is a compact camera with full manual control.

For all of the location images I shot with JPEG (Superfine), I could have shot with JPEG (Superfine) and RAW but unfortunately I had not transferred previous images shot on the memory card; so I had limited space. However choosing to shoot in JPEG (Superfine) gives me most of the information captured by the camera but I will still lose information regardless due to JPEG compression. If I had shot in RAW I would have the best source of file for editing, as this captures all of the information captured by the camera.

Location 1- Mid Cheshire Art Building:

These are six images from the Mid Cheshire Art Building shoot; I took a total of 9 images.

These are six images from the Mid Cheshire Art Building shoot; I took a total of 9 images.

I started shooting images for this project, while I walked home and immediately started capturing images as I finished college. Currently we are approaching the winter season, and the Sunsets are earlier. This gave me the idea to shoot graphic contemporary images of Cheshire on the way home.

My Samsung camera includes a built in Neutral Density filter; a neutral density filter doesn’t change any colour as it passes through the filter but reduces the amount of light. I used this for quite a lot of shots, not just in this location shoot, because there was still a lot of light. It also allowed me to create an exposure which would look evenly exposed across the frame, without the need of editing or the use of built in HDR mode (High Dynamic Range) or bracketing multiple exposures.

For this shoot I set the camera up with an ISO sensitivity of 80, though the sensor is not as sensitivity to light it also gives me the cleanest files (in terms of digital noise) from the camera. I shot at 1/250th second because at the time there was still a lot of light and I wanted to shoot images with a strong contrast. I the aperture to the widest f/1.4, though this allows the most light to the sensor and arguably could be reduced

Location 2 – Mid Cheshire and Hartford Campus:

These are six images from the Mid Cheshire and Hartford Campus shoot; I took a total of 8 images.

These are six images from the Mid Cheshire and Hartford Campus shoot; I took a total of 8 images.

These images are between the campuses of Mid Cheshire College and Hart High School. These were taken 5-10 minutes after the first shoot. I kept the same settings for most of these images, because this increased the contrast of the overall exposure, I was starting to be able to achieve the silhouette effect I was after for the shots for this project.

Location 3 – River Weaver and the River Weaver Locks: 

These are six images from the River Weaver and Locks shoot; I took a total of 43 images.

These are six images from the River Weaver and Locks shoot; I took a total of 43 images.

These were the last of the shots I took and again I kept mostly the same setting when shooting these images, only the very last images I increased the ISO to 200 because the light was fading fast. These settings were necessary for me to be able to shoot these high contrasted and silhouetted exposures.

Sorry this post was a little late the two new assignments have made juggling college work and work and this blog a little hard. But never fear I am going to keep up with writing posts for the blog.

Leave a Reply

