Preparing and Organising Original Files

For the image manipulation assignment we have to be able to show that we can organise our files all through the different processes of image editing. We have to be sufficient with organising the files from importing them to our library or workspace.

Now that I have taken some images of Cheshire, the files must be organised and prepared, before they can be edited. The images must be imported from my camera to the computer. These will be imported to a folder located within a folder called “Unit 34 Image Manipulation”. This will have three sub-folders; Working Files, Original Files and Final Images.

photo 1

For now the images will be located within a folder called “Photos of Cheshire”. The photos will be renamed regarding the location within the image, once this has happened I will put them in sub-folders regarding the location. To batch rename the images I will use Adobe Bridge.

photo 2

Here we have all the images located within the folder “Photos of Cheshire” I have already started to batch rename the images. Within the title of the images I include the location of the image and the date it was taken. To batch rename the images I need to select the images within a certain location. I then need to go to the drop-down menu Tools and click Batch Rename.

photo 3

A new window appears allowing me to specify what goes in the title, I can also include the date within the title. For the images I have currently selected I will be renaming them with “GBEstate”, as they are images taken in Greenbank Estate.

photo 4

After I have put “GBEstate” I will have the date created following on within the title and then I will include the Date of the image when it was created and a sequence number.

photo 5

I will do this to the remaining images within the folder “Photos of Cheshire”.

photo 6

Now that all the images have been batched renamed, I will create folders for each location.

photo 7

Untitled

This is how the Folder structure for the original images if I am to take any images to edit. These will be saved within the “Working Files” folder.

Leave a Reply

