Unit 1 Image Evaluation

Hello everyone! Sorry the posts to the site have been inconsistent. They take me a while to make sure that there ready to be posted. This post should have been posted before the project evaluation post, but looking back that it doesn’t really matter. I also must warn you that some of the images might be mixed up as there seems to be a graphical issue with my mac (due to Mac OS X Yosemite)

Location Shots:

DSC_0015The first image on display is one of my location images. This image was taken when I went on a walk near my local canal (Trent and Mersey). There are some berry bushes on the path down to the local canal. I wanted to show off the berries, as when shot in black and white I thought it would be an interesting image. For this image I wanted to create a shallow depth of field to isolate the subject and also give the effect of a macro shot. To do this I needed to use my 35mm f/1.8 lens to achieve the shallow depth of field. Because of this I needed to shoot with a faster shutter speed of 1/400th second and an ISO 100. Overall I am happy with image, especially the “bokeh” effect in the background.

DSC_0015To edit the image, I wanted to increase the overall contrast, but I also wanted to lighten the branch in the frame. I started first by editing the contrast of the overall image. I did a non-destructive image edit with a contrast mask. To then lighten the branch, I used selective editing on the second adjustment layer. This allows me to specify where the edit will apply to on the image, without altering the rest.

DSC_0177The second location image is from my location shoot, from pictures I took around Great Budworth. For this shot I wanted to create a dramatic effect. I also was inspired to by Trent Parke’s image of the silhouetted people dominating the landscape. I wanted to do the opposite by showing death dominating the landscape instead of life and progression.

To digitise the scene I was creating, I needed my aperture to be smaller at f/5.0. The shutter speed also needed to be quite quick at 1/400th second and my ISO was set to 100. This was because it was sunny and I wanted an exposure that had a strong contrast.

a3452-first2bpicture

This is the image I took inspiration from, when creating the second image.

This is an image from Trent Parke’s book “Minutes To Family”.

DSC_0177To edit this image I did not want to change much of the image, as I believed the exposure was adequate. I did however add an adjustment mask to allow me to edit the contrast in the Mid-Tones to bring back detail in the hills in the background. I then needed to paint onto the adjustment mask, to prevent it from affecting the whole image.

DSC_0124For my third location I have chosen another image from my canal location shoot. The image is a snapshot of a forested area near me. I like the image as it has a good tonal range from a location shoot which could be improved I got inspirations for this shot from a location shoot with our tutor. Jon showed us you could get some really interesting shots within a wooded area filled with colour. The shot comes across as quite dark and mysterious.

To create this shot I had trouble getting enough light into the camera. I realise I could have increased the ISO but I wanted to keep it at 100 to get the cleanest image files possible. The aperture was f/1.8 and the shutter speed was 1/125th second.

DSC_0124This image I didn’t really want to change much as I believed the tonal range was sufficient for the image. However the overall exposure was at little under exposed. To combat this I added an adjustment layer to tweak the contrast and increase the brightness.

DSC_0278For my fourth location, image is a location shoot around a local park at night. I have an active interest in Long Exposures. Through my research for black and white photos, I didn’t find that many black and white long exposures of nature. Unfortunately the composition for my black and white nature shots didn’t turn out well. This image was one of my favourite long exposures. I had to set the camera to bulb mode and use a remote shutter release. The sensor was exposed to the light for 76 seconds. To prevent the image from over exposing I used an aperture of f/4.5 and an ISO sensitivity of 100.

DSC_0278To edit the image like the previous image, I didn’t wan to change that much. I wanted to brighten the sky, to show the cloud trails and the climbing frame itself. So again I will be use Non-destructive tools and selective editing techniques to prevent the whole image being altered. So I added an adjustment layer, which allowed me to increase brightness and then add some paint to deselect areas, which didn’t need to be brightened up.

Studio Shots:

DSC_0256For my first studio, I have used as image looking down onto the rock. I also took the picture with the studio present, because its pointed at the rock the light has nowhere else to light. This makes the image quite mysterious and signifies simplicity. To create the image had to have relatively fast exposure. The aperture was set f/2.8 and I used a shutter speed 1/1600th seconds. The ISO sensitivity was 100.

DSC_0256To edit the image I used an adjustment mask to brighten the exposure on the rock. I painted the rest of the mask to prevent it from affecting the mask to prevent it from affecting the rest of the image. I then added another adjustment mask to change the contrast the surrounding the light. I also cropped the image down to even the composition off.

DSC_0040The second studio image, I have chosen, is a portrait I took on the studio shoot. While experimenting which light I decided to use, I turned the soft light on, so I could move objects on the table set. Two of my friends came over to see what I was shooting for my studio shots. As I looked up the soft light came across their faces in a very mysterious way. So I decided to take a portrait of my two friends one in the foreground with half her face lit, and my other friend dimly lit and blurred in the background.

To create this image I used an aperture of f/1.8 to give the portrait a shallow depth of field. Because I was using such a wide aperture I needed to shoot quite fast with a shutter speed of 1/250th second and an ISO sensitivity of 100.

DSC_0040For this image I wanted to do a subtle re-touch to the overall contrast. The original exposure has quite a harsh contrast on the face. So I added an adjustment layer to alter the contrast.

DSC_0212For my third studio image, the subject is a star cookie cutter. I also added Christmas crackers to give a sense of scale with the cookie cutters. I used a black background to help reduce the light spread. With the black background and using the flaps on the hard light I was able to control where the light bounced back.

To create the image, I used an aperture of f/2.8, but being closer to the subject allowed me to create a shallow depth of field. The shutter speed was 1/640th second with an ISO

DSC_0212When editing this image, I wanted to darken the overall exposure as I thought the exposure was slightly over-exposed. To combat this I used an adjustment layer to decrease the exposure. I also added a photo filter, but with the density at 15, so it subtly changed the overall tone of the image.

DSC_0261For my fourth and final image from studio shoot, the image is of a rock. I wanted to take a macro style image to show off the ridges and layers of the rock. However if I was to take the photo again, using such a shallow depth of field on the particular placed I have focussed on point that is quite hard to notice.

To create this image I shot at an aperture of f/2.8, this allowed me to achieve a shallow depth of field on the rock. To give the overall exposure a hard contrast, I had to shoot at 1/640th second and I needed an ISO sensitivity of 100.

DSC_0261Editing this image was quite simple I wanted to increase the contrast to help make it easier to see the in-focus point on the rock. To do this I used an adjustment layer and increased the overall contrast. I then also added a photo-filter, this photo-filter is cooler than the one in the third image, I also used a higher density on this particular image.

Leave a Reply

